January 2, 2024 — The Honourable Edith Dumont, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of the Order of Ontario, proudly announced 25 new appointments to the Order of Ontario for 2023.

The Order of Ontario, the province’s highest honour, celebrates exceptional individuals shaping a stronger province, nation, and world. These outstanding appointees span diverse sectors, including public service, business, journalism, and healthcare.

“As Chancellor of the Order of Ontario, it is my privilege to congratulate the Order’s appointees for 2023,” said Lieutenant Governor Edith Dumont. “These Ontarians have demonstrated the highest levels of merit, excellence, and dedication in their respective disciplines, making significant impacts at home and worldwide.”

Her Honour the Honourable Edith Dumont, the 30th Lieutenant Governor of Ontario

These are the first appointees from the new Lieutenant Governor, as she was only sworn in herself on November 14, 2023.

All appointees will be invested into the Order by the Lieutenant Governor at an investiture ceremony. The members’ official portraits are taken and they’re invested with the Order of Ontario insignia. The insignia is in the form of the Ontario trillium (the official provincial flower) and includes the shield and crown. Appointees are given the post-nominal letters (letters placed after a person’s name) to indicate the honour held by the individual.

Order of Ontario Insignia

These 25 newest members will join the 874 individuals who have received the Order of Ontario since its establishment in 1986.

Interesting Brampton trivia: only one person from Brampton has been afforded the honour of membership in this Order. Hon. William Grenville Davis (or ‘Brampton Billy’) was appointed in 1987 in the category of ‘Public Service’ for his time as the 18th premier of Ontario from 1971 to 1985.

Davis’ official Queen’s Park portrait

Nominations for the 2024 Order of Ontario are open until March 31, 2024 and you can learn more about the nomination process here.

2023 Appointees:

  • Jay Aspin
  • John M. Beck
  • Jo-Anne Clarke
  • Hon. David Collenette
  • Claire Crooks
  • Julie Di Lorenzo
  • John English
  • Lee Errett
  • Gervan Fearon
  • Patrick Foran
  • Blake C. Goldring
  • Herbert Ho Ping Kong
  • Blake Hutcheson
  • Michael Latner
  • Bernard Leduc
  • Joy MacDermid
  • Dwayne Morgan
  • Florence Ngenzebuhoro
  • Hazelle Palmer
  • Fred Possmayer
  • Peter Simon
  • Gary Slaight
  • George Trusler
  • Raquel Urtasun
  • Bhavana Varma

These remarkable Ontarians, among others, are recognized for their excellence, dedication, and impactful contributions, inspiring positive change in the province and beyond. For the full list of appointees and their backgrounds, click here.