June 8, 2024 – Premier Doug Ford announced a significant cabinet shuffle on June 6, 2024, with the aim of bolstering Ontario’s economy and continuing to deliver on the government’s core commitments. Notably, both Brampton MPPs in cabinet positions will retain their current roles.

Prabmeet Sarkaria, MPP for Brampton South, continues as the Minister of Transportation. Sarkaria will maintain his focus on improving Ontario’s transportation network, including key projects like Highway 413 and the Bradford Bypass. His ongoing leadership in this portfolio underscores the government’s commitment to enhancing the province’s infrastructure.

Charmaine Williams, MPP for Brampton Centre, remains the Associate Minister of Women’s Social and Economic Opportunity within the Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services. Williams will continue her efforts to support women’s issues and economic opportunities, ensuring that these remain a priority for the government.

Premier Ford emphasized the importance of stability and growth in his announcement. “Our team is focused on rebuilding Ontario’s economy and delivering on our promises,” Ford stated. “We are committed to choosing growth, prosperity, lower taxes, and better jobs for Ontarians.”

Cabinet Shuffle not overly shuffled

Other key figures in the cabinet will also remain in their positions. Sylvia Jones continues as Deputy Premier and Minister of Health, overseeing the province’s healthcare system. Peter Bethlenfalvy remains Minister of Finance, managing Ontario’s fiscal policies. Paul Calandra retains his role as Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, addressing housing affordability and municipal issues. Michael Ford remains the Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism, promoting diversity and inclusion across the province.

The cabinet shuffle also introduced several new appointments. Rob Flack becomes Minister of Farming, Agriculture, and Agribusiness, bringing his expertise from the agricultural sector. Mike Harris Jr. has been appointed Minister of Red Tape Reduction, aiming to streamline regulations for businesses. Stephen Lecce, previously the Minister of Education, now serves as the Minister of Energy and Electrification, reflecting the government’s focus on the energy sector. Todd Smith transitions to the role of Minister of Education, continuing his public service in a new capacity.

The shuffle included the creation of new positions to address specific needs. Sam Oosterhoff becomes the Associate Minister of Energy-Intensive Industries within the Ministry of Energy and Electrification. This role focuses on the growing demands of the energy sector, particularly in relation to electric vehicle manufacturing and other energy-intensive industries.

Premier Ford’s cabinet adjustments reflect a blend of continuity and new initiatives. The focus remains on infrastructure development, economic growth, and support for key sectors. Brampton’s MPPs, Prabmeet Sarkaria and Charmaine Williams, will continue to represent their community and contribute to the government’s goals. The renewed team looks prepared to tackle the challenges ahead and fulfill their commitments to the people of Ontario.

See the full list of changes here: